Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Celebrating Solutions Awards

Awards to USA Nonprofits and Agencies for
Programs Addressing Domestic Violence

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Mary Byron Project

Deadline Date:

01/31/18 Postmarked


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $10,000 to USA and Territories nonprofit organizations and government agencies to recognize innovative programs that aim to break the cycle of domestic violence. Preference will be given to programs that can serve as models for the nation to address intimate partner violence.

These are awards for accomplishments, not grants for future projects. Recipients are not required to render any further services as a condition of receiving a Celebrating Solutions Award.

Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy, and other disciplines that address intimate partner violence.

The Mary Byron Project was established in 2000 in memory of the young woman whose tragic murder led to the creation of automated crime victim notification technologies. As a nationally recognized thought leader on domestic violence, the Mary Byron Project cultivates and supports efforts that extend beyond crisis management to attack the root causes of this epidemic and help build safer, healthier communities.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177387

Number of Grants:

In general, the Mary Byron Project chooses four winners each year, yet reserves the right to choose fewer.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The funding source selects programs that can serve as models for the nation and offers $10,000 cash awards in recognition of their pioneering efforts.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility Criteria for Celebrating Solutions Awards:

- The program’s primary focus must address the issue of intimate partner violence.
- The nominated program, the agency or organization, and the core components of the program being nominated must have been operating for a minimum of three (3) years (established no later than December 31, 2013 for the 2017 award year.) The program must be in existence when the nomination is made.
- The program must be part of a nonprofit 501(c) (3) or government agency.
- The program should be replicable, or if it is national in scope, the program should have applications for individual communities, regardless of their size or ethnic population.

Not Eligible for Celebrating Solutions Awards are:

- Past Celebrating Solutions Award winners.
- Organizations other than nonprofit or governmental.
- Organizations operating outside the United States or a USA territory.
- Individuals.
- Basic research.

Pre-Application Information:

Click on the link in the Supporting Documents section below to download the application.

Application Process:

There are two stages to the awards process. Stage one requires submission of a nomination form, program outline, and release. If your nomination advances to the second stage, you will be asked to provide additional information and letters of support. Do not send brochures, videos, annual reports, or any support materials for the first round of judging, as they will be discarded.

Nominations will be judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy, and other disciplines that address domestic violence. These individuals remain anonymous so their ability to judge the nominations will not be influenced by a relationship with a nominated organization.

The Mary Byron Project is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Celebrating Solutions Award. Nominations must be postmarked by January 31, 2018. Email and fax submissions will not be

Guidelines and Eligibility:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To nominate your organization for the Celebrating Solutions Award, mail one original and two
collated copies of the completed nomination form, release, and completed program outline to:

Kathy Paulin
Celebrating Solutions Awards
Mary Byron Project, Inc.
10401 Linn Station Road, Suite 116
Louisville, KY 40223

Please direct all questions, and requests for information and general suggestions, to with “Celebrating Solutions Award” in the subject line.

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)